Today I am happy to be part of the Wickedness blog tour. We have a fantastic guest post by Deborah White but first here is just a little description about the book.

Title: Wickedness
Author: Deborah White
Format: Paperback/ebook
Pages: 304
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Where to buy: Amazon UK ~ Book Depository

Wickedness is a thrilling adventure that combines history, fantasy and romance, from an exciting new voice in teenage fiction. It will appeal to fans of Hush, Hush and Twilight as well as fans of historical authors like Sally Gardiner and Mary Hooper.

Two flame-haired girls, both fourteen and living in London, but four hundred years apart. A powerful and charismatic man, an Egyptian mummy and twenty spells written in hieroglyphics on parchment. An emerald casket, a gold ring and a ropewalker. All are united by blood and by a devastating prophecy.

And now I have the pleasure to have this wonderful guest post by the author of Wickedness, Deborah White

Why ancient Egypt inspired Wickedness

The plot for Wickedness grew out of the research I was doing into seventeenth century London. I had no idea when I started out that  anything at all was known then about Ancient Egypt. I certainly hadn’t expected that there would be a brisk trade in Egyptian artifacts. That mummies would be ‘on show’ in London…and that they were also ground up and used as medicine was a fascinating revelation! The middle of the seventeenth century was a period when belief in magic was still part of many people’s everyday life. Even the foremost scientific thinkers of the day, such as Isaac Newton still believed in alchemy and astrology. So it probably should come as no surprise that ‘hieroglyphics’ were invested with magical significance. If only they could be ‘de-coded’, it was thought, then who knew what secrets of the Universe might not be revealed! (In real life we had to wait to ‘de-code’ hieroglyphs until 1799 and the discovery of the Rosetta Stone. In Wickedness, the Doctor, luckily, discovers it much earlier!) There was also a widespread belief in the existence of a document called the Hermetica…this also translating into the fabled Emerald Tablet of Hermes Trismegistus. (Greek god Hermes merged with Egyptian god Thoth) Fascinating stuff! - Deborah White, Author.

Hope you enjoyed our little stop in the Wickedness Blog Tour, don't forget to check out the other blogs (see banner on the right) and check out the next stop over at The Great, The Good and The Bad


  1. That sounds like a great plot, and your book cover is fab. Will be sure to mention it to YA readers I know. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. The book sounds really interesting! Sounds like there was a lot of research put into it. Thanks for introducing us to another new author! This will be on my TBR list... its getting quite long thanks to you ladies ;)

  3. This just sounds like an all around really interesting book and I love the cover! I can't wait to read it! Thank you for letting our blog be a part of the tour!

  4. Sounds like a great book. I love Egyptian stuff and I love how it inspired the book.


// This Pinterest Hover Button is brought to you by bloggersentral.com. // Feel free to use and share, but please keep this notice intact.